There are a number of reasons why an appointment may need to be cancelled. Appointments can be cancelled by both staff and clients in a few different ways.
Ways to Cancel an Appointment
The client can cancel their own appointment through the confirmation email. In the email, there will be a Manage Appointment button underneath the appointment details.
When selected, this will redirect them to the confirmation page with the options to Reschedule or Cancel the appointment.
In Settings under Notifications, there is an option to include ICS files for clients and staff. Clients and Staff can use these files to add the appointment to their external calendars such as Outlook or Google. If either party selects No in this file, the appointment will be marked as cancelled.
If staff have their Coconut Schedule synced to their external calendar (Outlook, Google), then they are able to cancel an appointment within their external calendar. Once the appointment has been cancelled, the appointment in Coconut will then be marked as cancelled and a notification will be sent out to the staff and the client.
For Contact Centre Staff, they can cancel an appointment by searching for the specific client and selecting Log. They can then find the upcoming appointment, click Edit and then select Cancel Appointment located in the top right hand corner as shown here:
Staff can cancel appointments by navigating to the Schedule and selecting the designated appointment and selecting the Cancel button, located next to the Status field in the event window.
Note: When cancelling an appointment through the delete button on the schedule, if the Notify Staff and Notify Client boxes are not checked, then they will not receive a cancellation email.
Viewing cancelled appointments
You can view all cancelled appointments on the schedule by selecting the appointment status filter button and selecting the status Cancelled. The cancelled appointments will appear as grey blocks with the details crossed out:
Deleting cancelled appointments
If an appointment has been created by accident and then cancelled later, it may cause inaccuracies in the reporting. To avoid including such data in the reports it is possible to delete cancelled appointments.
Only users with Admin permissions are allowed to delete appointments that were previously cancelled.
To delete cancelled appointment:
- Select Cancelled in the appointment status filter.
- Open the required appointment.
- In the appointment window, click the Delete button and confirm deletion.
Other reasons to cancel appointments
It is important to note that if an upcoming appointment, that is booked with a particular service or location ends up being archived, then the system will automatically cancel the appointment and the notification will be sent to the staff and client.